2016-17 Goretti Hall of Fame Inductions

2016-17 Goretti Hall of Fame Inductions

2016-17 Hall of Fame Inductees and Fr. Charles Dausch Memorial Achievement Award Winners.


Members of the 1986-87 Boys Soccer Team.








October 7, 2016

St. Maria Goretti High School inducted their 2016-17 class into the Athletic Hall of Fame Friday at the Fountain Head Country Club. This year’s inductees will be honored for their leadership, character, and exceptional athletic achievements at Goretti. New members include:

  • Sarah “Skip” Ward of Hagerstown, Md. (posthumous inductee) – former Goretti girls basketball coach in the 1950s and ‘60s. As a leader among the Hagerstown community, Ward was inducted into the Washington County Sports Hall of Fame in its inception.
  • Gary Fearnow, class of 1962 – baseball & basketball player
  • John Robison, class of 1980 – soccer, basketball, and baseball player
  • Rodney Gibson, class of 2001 – basketball player; was inducted into the Baltimore Catholic League (BCL) this past May.

This year’s ceremony also honored Goretti’s 1986-87 Boys Varsity Soccer team on the 30th anniversary of their 19-1 championship season. The following members of the team will be the recipients of the Fr. Charles Dausch Memorial Achievement Award: Ed Savino, Mike Kurtkya, Alex McAllister, Brian Muldowney, Donney Donegan, Brian Leach, Mike Long, Craig O’Connor, Rick Leimbach, Shawn Harkrader, Joe Gorman, Matt Lesky, Carlo DellaMea, Simon Thompson, Jim Jardinier, Jordan Clark, team manager Jim Malejko, and coach Jim Martin.


Posted on

October 7, 2016