On Saturday, May 27th, the Class of 2017 at St. Maria Goretti High School celebrated their baccalaureate mass and commencement exercises. These 41 seniors earned $6.5 million in college scholarships, and completed 7,000 hours of community service during their time at Goretti. The pews of St. Ann Roman Catholic Church on Goretti’s campus were filled with graduates, their families, Goretti faculty, staff, and Administration, and members of the class of 1967 who were celebrating their 50th reunion.

One member of the class of 2017 received Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC) scholarships. Senior Sean Cooper earned a full-tuition ROTC scholarship through Valley Forge Military College in Wayne, Pennsylvania.

Each year during graduation, the Pro Deo et Patria medal is awarded to a member of the graduating class who has for the past four years consistently exemplified the spiritual, moral and intellectual values upon which St. Maria Goretti High School is founded.  This year, the faculty bestowed this highest honor on Kyle Pope.  Pope also received the Raymond H. Miller, Jr. memorial Scholarship and the Cathy Len Widmyer Memorial Award alongside being recognized as a Thespian National Honor Society member and acknowledged by the art department teacher, Tom McFarland.

Honors of valedictorian and salutatorian went to Rose Dever and Leah Morgan, respectively.

Goretti’s Class of 2017 includes the following:

Taylor Christian Blenckstone, Cody Michael Boushey, Andrew Joseph Keane Bramson, Elijah Marcus Clarance, Charlotte Loyce Clopper, Sean Bennett Cooper, Holly Rachel Cosner, Bridget Yvette Danver, Rose Lillian Dever, Ryan Alexander Downes, Samantha Jo Gallo, Benjamin Matthew Gilks, Mikayla Grace Hearne, Catherine Anne Hyde, Kendall Nicole Jones, William David Jones, Thomas Eugene Keenan, Mackenzie Elizabeth Kirby, Jennifer Ann Knode, Jacob Andrew Kuhn, Cassidy Reese Lavin, Rebecca Nadine Mason, Christopher Scott McAboy, Leah Eileen Morgan, Therese Marsi Ngassa, Taylor Morgan Patterson, Chandler Burton Penn, Kyle David Pope, Megan Alexandra Ramirez, Wenting Ran, Kirsten Nicole Searcy, Makayla Jailyn Solomon, Dalton Gregory Sponaugle, Asher Robert Starliper, Vincent Aaron Steiner, Sarah Elizabeth Szukalski, Quinn Alexander Tallant, Bryan Michael Tedeschi, Sean Nicholas Vietri, Erica Bree Worrell, and Zheyu Zhou.

Read more from the Herald-Mail Media here.